Skip to main content

Exit WCAG Theme

Switch to Non-ADA Website

Accessibility Options

Select Text Sizes

Select Text Color

Website Accessibility Information Close Options
Close Menu

When Is Speeding A Crime In Florida?

OMaraBlogImage

No one wants to be pulled over by the police for speeding. Still, most people think that speeding is a minor traffic infraction. In many cases, this is true. However, there are times when speeding is considered a crime and the offense will remain on your criminal record. If you are charged with criminal speeding, you could also face very harsh penalties that include more than just high fines. A criminal defense lawyer in Florida can help you fight the ticket to give you a better chance of avoiding a conviction.

What is Considered Criminal Speeding?

As in the majority of states, the fines and points added to someone’s driver’s license in speeding cases depends on the speed they were traveling at the time of the offense. If you are convicted of speeding up to 29 miles per hour over the speed limits, you may have to pay a few hundreds of dollars in fines and three or four points are added to your license. While this is not a criminal offense, the points added to your license are cumulative and will remain on your driving record for three years.

When a person drives 30 or more miles per hour over the speed limit, the offense is considered criminal speeding. Driving between 30 and 49 miles per hour over the speed limit is considered a misdemeanor, while any speed 50 miles per hour or more over the speed limit is considered a felonious offense.

Penalties for Criminal Speeding

A conviction for criminal speeding comes with many consequences and again, they will depend on the speed at which you were traveling. If you are convicted of a misdemeanor, you are required to pay a very large fine as well as court fees. You will have at least four points added to your driver’s license although in some cases, a judge may order more. If you have been convicted of criminal speeding in the past, you may also lose your license in a suspension.

If you are convicted of a felony offense for driving 50 or more miles per hour above the speed limit, the penalties become even harsher. The fine for this offense is $1,000 and you will have to pay court fees. You will also have more points added to your driver’s license. However, due to the fact that this is a felony, you could be charged with reckless driving, which could result in jail time in certain situations. You also risk having your driver’s license revoked for one to ten years.

Our Florida Criminal Defense Lawyers Can Help with Your Ticket

At O’Mara Law Group, our knowledgeable Orlando criminal defense lawyers know the harsh consequences associated with speeding. We also know how to overcome the charges and get them dismissed or reduced to a non-criminal violation. If you have been charged with speeding, call us today at 407-634-6604 or fill out our online form to learn more about how we can help you keep your driving record, and your criminal history, clean.

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn
Skip footer and go back to main navigation