O'Mara law group green logo

Orlando Weapons Offenses Lawyer

When people come to us for criminal defense, it is usually during the worst time in their lives; they are worried, confused and stressed.

While Florida has many pro-firearm laws, including no registration necessary for most gun owners, no-three day waiting period, and its own version of “Stand Your Ground,” Florida also has very strict laws for violating its firearms laws. A violation of these laws can result in the loss of your firearm, the revocation of a concealed carry permit, heavy fines, and even a jail or prison sentence. This is why it is in your best interest to contact the Orlando weapon offenses lawyers at the O’Mara Law Group right away.

Possession of a Firearm by a Felon

Under statute 790.23, it is unlawful for a felon to be in possession of a firearm. This includes carrying, owning, transporting, or having on their person a firearm, ammunition, electrical device (taser), or tear gas. In addition, those under 24 years old who have been convicted of a delinquent act are also banned from possessing a firearm. There are a few exceptions to this law, such as having a criminal record expunged, but in most cases it is illegal for a convicted felon who has served a year or more of incarceration to own or carry a firearm. The penalty for this offense is a first degree felony, punishable by up to 30 years in prison and a fine of $10,000.

Destructive Devices

It is a felony to make, possess, throw, project, place, discharge a destructive device (or attempt to do any of those actions). It is a third degree felony, punishable by up to five years in prison and a $5,000 fine, to violate this statute, 790.161. If the act was intended to harm another person or cause property damage, or the act causes a disruption of governmental operations, commerce, or the private affairs of another person, the offense is upgraded to a second degree felony. If the act results in serious bodily harm, the offense is a first degree misdemeanor. And, if the act causes the death of another, it is a capital felony, punishable by life in prison or the death penalty.

Unlicensed Concealed Carry

In Florida, you do not need a license to own a gun. However, you do need a license for concealed carry of a firearm, under 790.01. A violation results in a first degree misdemeanor, punishable by up to one year in jail and $1,000 fine. Exceptions to this law include:

Improper Exhibition of a Firearm

It is a first degree misdemeanor to display any of the following in a rude, careless, angry, or intimidating manner (not including during self defense) in public:

Talk to an Orlando Weapons Offenses Lawyer Today

In addition to the above mentioned state crimes, the federal government also has authority to charge individuals with federal felonies for possession of certain types of firearms, such as machine guns, sawed off rifles, and grenade launchers, for example. Whether you are being tried in state or federal court, the Orlando weapons offenses defense lawyers of O’Mara Law Group can help. Call us at 407-413-882 to schedule a consultation today.

Contact Our Firm

Related Topics

Our Orlando Office

221 NE Ivanhoe Blvd. Suite 200 Orlando, FL 32804

What Our Clients Say

Schedule a Consultation Today

Schedule a Consultation Today